His Mother’s Child

Logan’s grad video from Amy Cory on Vimeo.

Last week, I received a late night text from my son, Logan. “Listen to this. It made me cry,” with a link to a song. This beautiful song was “You Are Your Mother’s Child”, by Connor Oberst.

The title alone made me cry. We cry at music together, my son and I. We talk of religion and politics. When I give him advice, he doesn’t roll his eyes. He is my friend, but he’s more than that. He is a part of me, alive and walking in the present. He will go on to do the things I didn’t, love with the abandon I reserve, and apply the calm wisdom that I didn’t come upon until it much later in life. In short, he is the very best of me, and I couldn’t be prouder to be his mother.

2 thoughts on “His Mother’s Child

Leave a Reply

