What Are We Saving the Daylight For, Anyway?

The next time I am late for anything, which is always, I am going to tell people I am on Amy Savings Time.

The issue of Daylight Savings Time is hotly debated between my husband and me. Ok, it’s hotly debated by me. He maintains that it’s a great idea, while I believe it’s a crock. The reasoning behind my opinion is much more detailed than his. I rant. He grins. I think he’s devil’s-advocating me.

It took centuries for civilized society to come up with a workable system of keeping time. It took just a short period of time for Congress to muck it up. I do admit being a bit sketchy on the details of the history of DST, and I would love to study up on it, BUT I HAVE LOST AN HOUR TODAY. I literally have no time.

I don’t understand the benefit of DST. I have no desire for it to be sunny at 10:00 pm in the summer. We get so sick of that, that in the fall, we change the clocks BACK again. What’s the point? And now I have to drive to work in the dark again, unable to see the giant craters on the highway. Maybe the tire repair company lobbyists are behind this DST madness.

I grew up in Indiana during the 70’s and 80’s, a much more rational time during which we didn’t observe DST. There was no moving of the clocks, only a slight grumbling when The Carol Burnett Show came on at 7:00 and not 8:00 on Saturday nights. I grew up thinking time was stable. That it was something that could be counted on. That it was one of those certainties of life that just “is what it is,” and couldn’t be changed by the whims of man.

But since I was wrong, I think I will simply impose my own concept of time upon others. It will be time to be at work when my hair is decent and I have decided which shoes to wear. It will be time to go to dinner when I have finished changing into my 6th outfit. It will be time for that appointment when the slow car in front of me gets out of my way. Since time is so obviously malleable, why should we be limited to just two changes a year?

“And you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it’s sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death.”
-Time, Pink Floyd

No one seemed to inform the sun of DST. It still rises and sets, the same in a relative way. And today I am not only one day, but a day and one hour, closer to death. Thanks, Ben Franklin. Thanks a lot.

3 thoughts on “What Are We Saving the Daylight For, Anyway?

  1. In Asia, meetings begin when the people show up. Perhaps you should move here. They have a much looser concept of time than Americans do (and no DST).

    I vaguely remember learning that the purpose of DST was to make sure kids were not walking to school in the dark. I would argue that school should begin an hour later, which is better for older students anyway.

Leave a Reply

