Strong in Compression

Two factors which contribute to a structure’s strength are material and shape.
The eggshell is weak in tension and strong in compression.
– Noted from the University of Iowa Department of Education

The dome beneath my foot
holds my weight for now.
All of my focus on the center,
at the heart within the shell.

One slip and the tension will snap it.
Sharp slivers of calcium carbonate,
like shards of bone, will pierce my skin.
Yellow yolk, the color of cowardess,
cold and slippery,
will stain my sole.

So I walk upon this eggshell
slowly and with focus.
No mistakes.
No sudden moves.
No tension.
The egg has become more sacred
than the person a thousand times its size.

2 thoughts on “Strong in Compression

Leave a Reply

